Another Program, Another Location, Another “Last Midnight”

Hello everyone!

The day has finally arrived (sorta… it’s not quite midnight yet)- it’s time for me to head off on my grand adventure to New Taipei City. So much has happened in the past month: I’ve learned, grown, discovered so many things, and altogether had a nice break from the monotony of school (not that I wouldn’t trade it all in a heartbeat to be back in Beijing). That being said, I’m ready to jump headfirst back into language learning and the wonderful (awful) parts of the study abroad experience.

I’m feeling so many emotions, like I always seem to do in these late-night hours before I leave home again. I’m bursting with excitement about seeing my NSLI-Y Beijing family again. It’s been a good month in Utah with my friends and family here- but I’m ready to get back to Chinglish memes and shenanigans and running around Asia with my friends. I’m a little nervous. Just because I’m going back to Taiwan doesn’t mean I’m guaranteed to stay there for the full month of this supplemental program. If there’s anything that South Korea’s situation over the past few days has taught me, it’s that situations abroad can change in an instant. I’m trying to remain optimistic in the face of uncertainty, while also being hyperaware of the tender emotional wounds from the last time I flew across the ocean. More than anything, I’m eager to see what March will bring. What opportunities will I find? What people will I meet? How much Chinese can I possibly learn in a month??? I guess we’ll just have to wait and see.

My heart also goes out to the NSLI-Y Korean Academic Year students, who found out earlier today that their program was being cut short because of the coronavirus outbreak in South Korea. To my Korean AY friends: I love you all so much. I know that no words can fully capture what it feels like to be ripped from your home earlier than expected. It’s okay to mourn the death of your time abroad- that’s part of the healing process. And good things do come from all of the pain and anguish, I promise! It won’t be easy, and it won’t be quick, but when it’s all said and done, you will emerge from this experience a wonderful, excellent, amazing new person.

Anyway, I need to head off to (try to) sleep before I catch my flight to San Francisco tomorrow morning.

See you all on the flipside!

Leave a comment